top of page
  • Writer's pictureClean Living Mom

Clove and Hallow Brand & Product Reviews

Updated: Sep 30, 2020

Clove + Hallow! My first non toxic makeup brand I tried out after leaving Beautycounter as a rep!

clove and hallow non toxic makeup lip velvets, sunrise eyeshadow palette, lip creme, and mascara
My clove and hallow makeup collection! It's gotten quite extensive...I might have a problem

Clove and Hallow was founded (and is still currently run by professional makeup artist Sarah Biggers-Stewart after coming down with a mystery illness that conventional medicine couldn't cure! That led her down the path of holistic medicine and a complete lifestyle overhaul! She developed a passion for holistic wellness and became determined to weave clean beauty into her professional kit.


Guys I’m so excited about this company and their products! Here’s what I love about them:⁣


  • The company as a whole has a commitment to transparency. They disclose every ingredient in every product and have an ingredients glossary for every ingredient they use explaining what it is and why they use it. ⁣(I will say, with the exception of their newest product the Glow + Go body oil which says "natural fragrance" in the label. I contacted them about it and got this direct message back, "Fragrance is trade secret to the supplier so that’s why we can't disclose it; we don’t make it in-house. We look at all SDS (safety data sheets) prior to using any raw materials and can confirm it is natural oils and naturally derived/isolated scent components!" This answer personally doesn't worry me, it's one I've heard multiple times from several "cleaner" brands including babo botanicals and 100% pure. They basically don't have the rights to the recipe and hence can't disclose it. If you're uncomfortable with that though, just know to avoid this product!

  • They have a clean 15 guarantee which is a promise that every product they make will contain 15 ingredients or less per base formula. ⁣

  • They ban the use of “parabens, phthalates, synthetic fragrance or flavor, and more than 1,500 other ingredients that do more harm than good.”⁣

  • They don’t use green washing terms! This is a big one guys! They don’t market themselves as all natural or organic makeup. They just research every ingredient for human health and safety and use as few ingredients as possible!⁣

  • They seek to educate their customers on the ingredients they choose to use, why those chose to use it, and why they feel it's safe. ⁣

  • Their products actually work and are amazing!! Which brings us to my review on the products I tried...which is quite a few! I've added to my collection over the past few years! haha⁣

Also, a few random facts about some of their sourcing for pigments. Their FD&C pigments are not synthesized from coal tar! They are derived from petroleum byproducts that occur outside of the industry rather than letting the petroleum byproducts go to waste. All of their dyes are checked by the FDA for safety, tested again by our manufacturer as a raw material, a third time in the finished product, and a fourth time by an European Union toxicologist.

This is crazy important and next level because this ensures utmost safety and most importantly that they are meeting all required regulations! (You'd be surprised how many smaller indie brands and "cleaner" beauty brands are falling through the cracks and NOT meeting all safety regulations!! This poses just as high of a threat health wise as products containing more so "toxic" ingredients.

Clove + Hallow pressed powder foundation shade 3, hydra-glow, mascara and lip creme in frosting
Clove + Hallow pressed powder foundation shade 3, hydra-glow, mascara and lip creme in frosting

Product Reviews:


Conceal + Correct (shade 3)-isn't quite as matte as their foundation is, acts as a nice brightener for under eyes, and conceals pretty well! I'd say light to medium coverage. This shade was more of an exact match to my skin tone


Liquid Skin Tint (shade 4)-Pros: Guys I LOVE this foundation!! One of my favorite products from them by far! I have EXTREMELY oily skin (and slightly combination in the winter) and this foundation dries semi matte so my skin did SO well with it!! Looks and feels natural, covers really well, very buildable. (Medium- full coverage)⁣ I always still wore a mattifying powder/ setting powder over top of it because I like my face REALLY matte lol and it did well with those!

Cons: It sometimes was a bit patchy after a few hours of wearing and separated a little. You have to realllyyyy blend it in when you apply it. I noticed that problem got worse the older the foundation was. At the very end, I was so bummed I went to use it and the formula had totally separated and was unusable! When I went to squeeze it out, all the clear liquid came out then a weird mess of the rest of the foundation. (Pictured below) It was about 9 months old.

All in all though would still recommend, especially for those with oily or combination skin!

Clove and Hallow pressed mineral foundation shade 3, concealer in shade 3 and liquid skin tint in shade 4
Clove and Hallow pressed mineral foundation shade 3, concealer in shade 3 and liquid skin tint in shade 4

Pressed Mineral Foundation (shade 3)-haven’t tried a pressed powder foundation in years! This is a very light coverage...I’m definitely partial to liquid myself (I feel like powder settles into lines & pores more)...I honestly feel like it takes a lot to feel like it’s really “doing anything” & providing coverage...but besides that I’ve liked using it when I just need a little somethin somethin. I definitely prefer their liquid foundation! ⁣

Clove + Hallow Sunrise Eyeshadow Palette
Clove + Hallow Sunrise Eyeshadow Palette

Sunrise Eyeshadow Palette -Pros: liked this palette overall... great everyday neutral colors, blends really well with no fall-out⁣.

Cons: The colors aren't super dark...the pigmentation is decent, much more of a day wearing palette...the lighter colors especially I noticed kind of "fade" throughout the day and aren't as bright.

Here's some swatches below.

clove and hallow eyeshadow palette swatch
C+H sunrise palette swatches

Lip Velvets -Guys I'M OBSESSED! I have bought so many of these. lol BY FAR my all time favorite long wearing lipstick!! I have been hard pressed to find a non-toxic matte liquid lippie until now! This is really the only brand that stays on really well, has really great pigmentation, great clean ingredients, and doesn't dry out my lips! (Dries matte but not over drying!) You can touch it and it won't come off. (It also endures a light making out session...just gonna throw that out there lol) I can go through a whole meal without the lipstick coming off almost at all! Very impressive and highly highly recommend!


Lip Creme (shade Frosting) -Pros: this color frosting is literally the perffff nude shade! Most I’ve tried are too peachy toned...plus it’s very creamy⁣.

Cons: it doesn’t last super long and the formula is a bit “thin”...like when you rub your lips together after applying and you see that line on your lips...(please someone tell me they know what I’m talking about lol)..like it doesn't really build well. Just know you have to apply it pretty often throughout the day...also as time goes on it settles into the lips a little "cakey". Like it doesn't really come off smoothly...it looks sort of separated and cakey on the lips as time goes on. All in all, lipstick lasting for hours is important to me, so probably won’t get another of these...their lip velvets are where it’s atttttt! ⁣Here's some swatches...and might I just add...Darling is my all time fav!!! (Also Jetsetter definitely looks a little darker on)

(top to bottom) lip creme frosting, lip velvet Ellijay, Cupcake, Darling, Sangria, and Jetsetter
(top to bottom) lip creme frosting, lip velvet Ellijay, Cupcake, Darling, Sangria, and Jetsetter

Hydraglow Highlighter -best liquid highlight I’ve tried yet (competes with the Ilia one)! So shiny and gives such a nice glow...very multi use and rubs in well...this bottle is going to last forever lol because you need so little per use!⁣

Mascara -Pros: this is a GREAT lengthening mascara! It reminds me of wet baby lashes lol It’s definitely not drying at all and doesn’t flake or clump!! If you’re looking for a more natural looking mascara...this is it. ⁣

Cons: doesn’t add a whole lot of volume and when it gets wet it comes off very easily. Doesn’t really build and give you the “drama” kind of look...⁣even when you apply several coats.


I loved this company so much I’m now an affiliate!! CLICK HERE TO SHOP and use code CLEANLIVINGMOM15 for 15% off!!


Have YOU ever tried any C+H products?? What's been your experience?? WHat products do you want to try next?! Comment below and tell me!

bottom of page